My Kingdom for a Gilet!

2011: the year when men, including myself, finally gave in and began calling body warmers gilets. I thought I would celebrate this seismic shift in fashion consciousness with a pencil sketch I found at the back of my laptop. The drawing, now slightly enhanced in Photoshop, is from Matthew Williamson’s Autumn/Winter collection. The gilets were made from a heavy Mongolian wool: an eye-catching contrast to the bright minidresses parading beneath them. I’ll never forget how the colour bleed on the one pictured below was described as a “camel to nude degrade.” Wow, some people would just call it brown! Oh what I’d give for a Mongolian gilet during the current superfreeze.

Matthew Williamson Autumn/Winter 2011

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

